Print Page   |   Contact Us
Organizational Structure
Share |
The IMA-NA is organized to enable the industrial minerals industry of North America to coordinate its efforts in the handling of issues of common concern to the industry.

Under its umbrella structure, the IMA-NA presently includes nine mineral-specific sections - i.e., ball clay, bentonite/barite, borates, calcium carbonate, feldspar, industrial sand, mica, soda ash, and talc. A mineral-specific section can consist of a trade association that represents a specific industrial mineral commodity (e.g., ball clay or industrial sand). In cases in which there is no industrial mineral-specific trade association, a section consists of a group of industrial mineral companies producing a specific industrial mineral commodity (e.g., soda ash). A tenth section is comprised of IMA-NA's associate members, companies that supply services or equipment to the industrial minerals industry.

General Assembly/Sections
The General Assembly is the governing body of IMA-NA and has all the powers for the accomplishment of the goals of the Association. The General Assembly consists of member company representatives (individuals) from each industrial mineral section. Each IMA-NA section is entitled to one vote in the General Assembly. The members of each section elect a chairman who will also serve as a member of both the Board of Directors and the Executive Committee, and a vice chairman who will serve on the Board of Directors.

Board of Directors
The Board of Directors is responsible for the management of the Association, and consists of not less than six directors, with two directors being elected by each industrial mineral section. Directors serve a two-year term and may be reelected. To provide for consistency the two-year term of directors from a section overlap so that one of the two will be elected each year. The Board elects from among its members the officers of the Association, consisting of the Chairman, Vice-Chairman, and Secretary-Treasurer, who serve two-year terms and are not eligible for renewal.

Executive Committee
The Executive Committee is comprised of the officers of the Board of Directors, as well as all industrial mineral section chairmen who are not officers. During the period between Board Meetings, the Executive Committee provides a means of acting on behalf of the Board in making timely management decisions.

Through a structure of standing committees and task forces the Association addresses issues such as government affairs, safety and health, environment, operations and engineering. For example, legislative, regulatory and environmental issues are managed by the Government Affairs Committee, which is responsible for notifying members of issues pertinent to the industry, providing guidance on how to be most effective in acting on issues, and facilitating the appropriate action by the Association. The committee structure is used to study and recommend association positions on issues of legislative/regulatory importance, share best practices in areas of common interest and provide assistance to the members in other areas as needed. The IMA-NA currently has six standing committees: Transportation, Membership, Safety and Health, Operations and Engineering, Government Affairs, and Environmental Affairs.

Association Staff
The Board employs a President and other staff to carry out and manage the business of the Association. The staff is responsible for the day-to-day activities of the Association and facilitates the work of the Board and committees to accomplish the goals and objectives of the Association.