Print Page   |   Contact Us
Blog Home All Blogs
Search all posts for:   


View all (560) posts »

Critical Minerals Final List

Posted By Mark Ellis, Friday, May 18, 2018

Today, the Department of the Interior released the final version of the draft Critical Minerals List that was posted in the Federal Register on February 16, 2018, for public comment, in accordance with Executive Order 13817.

As you may remember, on December 20, 2017, President Trump issued Executive Order 13817, which, among other things, directed the Secretary of the Interior, in coordination with the Secretary of Defense and in consultation with the heads of other relevant agencies, to publish a list of critical minerals in the Federal Register. The U.S. Geological Survey compiled the list—prepared with the Bureau of Land Management’s cooperation—and the list was submitted for public comment via a Federal Register notice.

The list of critical minerals, while “final,” is not a permanent list, but will be dynamic and updated periodically to reflect current data on supply, demand, and concentration of production, as well as current policy priorities.

So what is the next step?

Per the Executive Order Sec. 4, the Commerce Department is responsible for organizing the interagency responses into a final report which is due Aug. 16, 2018, to the President.  The report shall include a strategy to reduce the Nation’s reliance on critical minerals, status of recycling and reprocessing technologies or technological alternatives to critical minerals, options for accessing critical minerals through investment and trade with allies and partners, recommendations to streamline permitting and review processes related to developing leases, enhancing access to critical mineral resources, increasing discovery, production, and domestic refining of critical minerals, and a plan to improve topographic, geologic, and geophysical mapping of the United States and make the resulting data and metadata electronically accessible.

The minerals on the final list are:

    • aluminum (bauxite)

    • antimony

    • arsenic

    • barite

    • beryllium

    • bismuth

    • cesium

    • chromium

    • cobalt

    • fluorspar

    • gallium

    • germanium

    • graphite (natural)

    • hafnium

    • helium

    • indium

    • lithium

    • magnesium

    • manganese

    • niobium

    • platinum group metals

    • potash

    • rare earth elements

    • rhenium

    • rubidium

    • scandium

    • strontium

    • tantalum

    • tellurium

    • tin

    • titanium

    • tungsten

    • uranium

    • vanadium

    • zirconium

The Federal Register notice can be accessed through the following link: 

Tags:  critical minerals; Executive Order 13817; Departme 

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)